damp spots: a story of redemption

I’m going to be honest with you, friend, and admit that I have not been at my finest this week.  I’ve spent a good portion of it crying, cranky, ranting, raving, stopping just short of an asthma attack.  This may come as a surprise to you.  I usually like reason.  But allow me to disillusion you – I was looking for fights this week, and lost most of them.

What? Why?  Actually, I’ve already forgotten.  I had one of those infantile moments where my head hurt from breathing so hard and hysterically that I stopped, just stopped, and suddenly became absorbed with the large damp spots on my sleeves.

Please accept my apology for acting this way.  I know you weren’t around.  But I’m feeling repentant – which may NEVER happen again.  And carpe diem, you know?

Anyway hola, hello, here you are, and you’re probably wondering what I’ve done with myself this week.  I’ve been dying to tell you.  Unfortunately, the craft I’ve been deeply preoccupied with of late has everything to do with Christmas, and Christmas gifts

You’re right.  Too soon.  But the gifts are for my dear co-workers, who I love very much.  And, they make up 90% of the five people who read this blog.  I can’t show you.  I can’t.  But I can give one spoiler.  This is how much Mod Podge action has been happening, how much I’ve been inhaling (might explain the tears):I promise to show you the finished results after the gifts are received.

In the meantime, did you know that the first sentence in ‘War and Peace’ is, “Eh bien, mon prince, Genes et Lucques ne sont plus que des apanages, des estates, de la famille Buonaparte”*?  I didn’t either!  But now is as a good a time as any to know the second and third sentences, to read the whole book.  It’s true.  I’ve got my eye on you, number 4.  Try not to loan me any books in the next two months.  Every word I read from  now until la fin will be penned by my old friend Leo T.

*p.s. don’t worry.  the entire book is not in french.  Picked up the Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky translation at the library.  Wish me luck!

some sugar

