p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.s.

Among other things threatening to be extinct, apparently stamps are rising another cent, as post offices across the country are cutting back and on the brink of closing.  Of course, I think it will be awhile before we are hard-wired to mind message ebay purchases to one another.  So, post office, you’re safe for now.  I’m assuming this is a terrible time to give my ‘I hate the internet and the 21st century and, while we’re at it, yellow snow’ speech…    Instead, in support of my most beloved mode of communication, and all the hard-working, blue-uniformed friends who enable it, I promise that these will be mailed by the end of the week: 

Admittedly, it’s difficult to be conscientious every second of one’s life.  From those ridiculously sad, sad, Sarah Mclachlan-backed animal cruelty commercials to the slew of empowering, charitable websites we can click on daily thanks to savvy facebook-friends, I sometimes get overwhelmed prioritizing what to care about.  The truth is it’s all, more or less, important.

For me, the past two years have been defined by an ultimate sense of waste – of time, of energy, of resources.  I see it everywhere.  I’m shamed by my personal excess.  But shame and regret and self-loathing will get us nowhere.  I’ve learned it is possible to stop.  To breathe.  To – very important step – focus, before moving towards betterment.  This week I bit the bullet, made my holiday cards, and reduced my paper collection by 1/16th.  NOT more important than world hunger, I realize.  But in an insignificant way, it doesn’t hurt to save where possible, to  celebrate the season, to say, passionately, oh, p.s. I love you.

oh,  p.p.s. I love you.

some sugar

