it’s probably time to tell you we’re california people now

There’s the part about getting married. Or, the honeymoon in Barcelona? Well, and the very prompt move across the country! —- that I might have mentioned. But really, I’ve never been through so many changes, in such a short amount of time, in my entire life. And somehow I forgot to pause, to tell everyone.

Still. At some point between driving through the mountains in Denver, blinking at the grimy lights in Vegas, and searching for portable air conditioners in our sunny new city – it occurred to me that, in a sad way, the wedding was an informal goodbye. Not of the proverbial “-to my youth” variety. A literal kind. The last I would see of many before hopping on a plane to honeymoon, followed by a single day’s return home, followed by an immediate drive to CALIFORNIA. A gasp that has lasted these past three weeks altogether. 

a view from our window, in beautiful Barcelona

a view from our window, in beautiful Barcelona

delicious pintxos at quimet y quimet

delicious pintxos at quimet y quimet

worn shoes, from all those cobblestone sidewalks

worn shoes, from all those cobblestone sidewalks

a packed trunk full of beginnings

back in the states, a packed trunk full of more adventurous beginnings

kansas city. rain.

kansas city. rain.

is this real? somewhere dreamy between colorado and utah

is this real? somewhere dreamy between colorado and utah

I have spent three weeks marathon-watching 30 Rock before. Binge-reading Jane Austen. Painting a painting. Memorizing “good evening” in Japanese (konbanwa!). Writing. In retrospect there was no way to prepare for any of it. No choice but to jump!

So, hello from sunny, lovely Southern California! Weather news now include a surf report. Beloved oak and maple trees are replaced with various shades of palm, here. The beach is just up the street. And furniture-less, we still manage to be happy, because picnics on our floor look like this:

IMG_2421Kidding. This was just one night. Have you seen the Izakayas here?

And so far, the casualties equal only one. I miss Gigi. My parents too, of course — but our understanding is a happy one. Gigi’s understanding looks like this:

"sad- sigh-sad"

“sad- sigh-sad”

My heart is a little bit melty, thinking of her.

But on days when I am a bit shaken, missing my favorite shih tzu, I can also clearly see the beauty of finding yourself in the same state, same household, sharing the same life with your best friend in the whole universe. And I am happy and oh so very grateful, oh so very grateful, yes.

 

2 thoughts on “it’s probably time to tell you we’re california people now

  1. I have your blog saved in my favorites tab at work so that every now and then, when I need a break, I can read what you’ve written. You always make me smile 🙂 I’m looking forward to the day that the whole herd of us show up on your door step unexpectedly!! No really, I will always call first!! 🙂

    • dear friend,

      a very belated THANK YOU for leaving me this message! finding it is akin to happening upon a snack you didn’t actually think was there, but then you’re like, oh my god, i was so hungry and here is exactly what i wanted to eat! or, you know, akin to hearing from a really good friend who you want to see more often. thanks for letting me know i have a reader if i ever write something. i look forward to that day you show up on my doorstep, when three small children flood my home and heart all in one breath.

some sugar

